Opening Times

The observatory does not have a card machine.  Only cash or cheque, please.

Admission to the observatory is from the published opening time.  The complete programme commences 15 minutes later.

Arrivals after programme commencement may miss some of the programme content.

The programme is approximately 2 hours duration and will usually include a short talk, a planetarium presentation and visits to the historic telescopes and Lockyer Technology Centre.

Telescope domes are unheated and suitable clothing should be worn.  Telescope viewing is dependent on clear sky.

The observatory will always be open at the advertised times.  There is no need to pre-book for any published open afternoon or evening.

The 2017 public openings are available as an .ics file to import into calendar applications. If you are using Google Calendar then you can automatically receive updates by clicking the arrow next to Other Calendars, choosing “Add by URL” and pasting the link to the file on this website.  Please note this file was updated on 8th January to correct errors.

Prices – Adults – £8.00, Children – £4:00, Family ( 2 adults and 2 children) £20:00

Date Time Theme/Title
2017
Sat 7th Jan 19:15 The Quadrantid Meteor Shower
Sat 21st Jan 19:15 Barnard: The Man Who Never Slept!
Sat 4th Feb 19:15 Lunar Eclipses
Sat 18th Feb 19:15 Why Are Stars Different Colours?
Sat 4th March 19:15 What Is An Occultation?
Sat 18th March 11:00 – 17:00 British Science Week Family Day
Sat 1st April 19:15 The Southern Sky
Sat 8th April 19:15 Jupiter
Sat 22nd April 19:15 Galaxies
Sat 6th May 19:15 Mercury
Wed 17th May 14:15 Open Afternoon
Sat 27th May 19:15 Our Star
Sat 3rd June 19:15 Circumpolar Constellations
Wed 7th June 14:15 Open Afternoon
Thur 22nd June 19:15 Open Evening
Sat 8th July 19:15 Types Of Stars
Wed 12th July 14:15 Open Afternoon
Wed 19th July 15:30 IAU Symposium 355: Space Weather
Wed 26th July 14:15 Open Afternoon
Sat 5th Aug 19:15 What are the Perseids?
Sat 12th Aug 9:30am – 5:00pm South West Astronomy Fair
Wed 16th Aug 14:15 Open Afternoon
Thur 24th Aug 19:15 Open Evening
Wed 30th Aug 14:15 Open Afternoon
Sat 9th Sept 19:15 Neptune at Opposition
Sat 23rd Sept 19:15 Cepheid Variable Stars
Sat 7th Oct 19:15 Our Moon
Sun 15th Oct 11:00 – 17:00 Sidmouth Science Festival
Sat 28th Oct 19:15 Star Clusters
Sat 11th Nov 19:15 Finding your way around the Night Sky
Sat 25th Nov 19:15 Supernovae
Sat 2nd Dec 19:15 Comets
Sat 16th Dec 19:15 The Geminids Meteor Shower