Opening Times

The observatory does not have a card machine.  Only cash or cheque, please.

Admission to the observatory is from the published opening time.  The complete programme commences 15 minutes later.

Arrivals after programme commencement may miss some of the programme content.

The programme is approximately 2 hours duration and will usually include a short talk, a planetarium presentation and visits to the historic telescopes and Lockyer Technology Centre.

Telescope domes are unheated and suitable clothing should be worn.  Telescope viewing is dependent on clear sky.

The observatory will always be open at the advertised times.  There is no need to pre-book for any published open afternoon or evening.

Our public openings are available as an .ics file to import into calendar applications. If you are using Google Calendar then you can automatically receive updates by clicking the arrow next to Other Calendars, choosing “Add by URL” and pasting the link to the file on this website.

Prices – Adults – £8.00, Children – £4:00, Family ( 2 adults and 2 children) £20:00

Date Time Theme/Title
2019
Sat 5th Jan 19:15 The Quadrantid Meteor Shower
Sat 19th Jan 19:15 Winter Constellations
Sat 2nd Feb 19:15 How Solar System Bodies are named
Sat 16th Feb 19:15 What is a star?
Sat 16th March 11:00 – 17:00 British Science Week Family Day
Sat 23rd March 19:15 What do Black Holes look like?
Sat 13th April 19:15 What is a Supernova?
Sat 27th April 19:15 Planets
Sat 4th May 19:15 What is a Nebula?
Wed 15th May 14:15 Open Afternoon
Sat 25th May 19:15 Jupiter and the Juno mission
Sat 1st June 19:15 Summer Constellations
Wed 5th June 14:15 Open Afternoon
Thur 20th June 19:15 What are Open and Globular Star Clusters?
Sat 6th July 19:15 Solar Eclipses
Wed 10th July 14:15 Open Afternoon
Wed 17th July 14:15 Open Afternoon
Sat 20th July 19:15 50th Anniversary of Apollo 11
Thur 25th July 19:15 Caroline Herschel
Sat 3rd Aug 19:15 Perseids Meteors
Sat 10th Aug 9:30am – 5:00pm South West Astronomy Fair
Wed 14th Aug 14:15 Open Afternoon
Thur 22nd Aug 19:15 Saturn
Sat 7th Sept 19:15 Sir William Herschel
Sat 21st Sept 19:15 Telescopes through history
Sat 5th Oct 19:15 What is a star?
Sun 13th Oct 11:00 – 16:00 Sidmouth Science Festival
Sat 26th Oct 14:15 The Astronomy of Birr Castle
Sat 9th Nov 19:15 What is a star made of?
Sat 23rd Nov 19:15 Interacting Galaxies
Sat 7th Dec 19:15 What is Star Hopping?
Sat 14th Dec 19:15 The Geminids Meteor Shower